The Wombats


Origin : Liverpool, England
Occupation(s) : Singer, Musician
Genres : Indie rock
Agent / Label : 14th Floor, Bright Antenna

The Wombats are an English indie rock band formed in Liverpool in 2003. Since its inception, the band’s line-up has consisted of Matthew Murphy (lead vocals, guitar, keyboards), Tord Øverland Knudsen (bass, backing vocals, keyboards), and Dan Haggis (drums, backing vocals, keyboards). The band is signed to 14th Floor Records and Bright Antenna. They have sold over 1 million albums worldwide.

The group met while they were students at the Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts and released several EPs before their 2006 album Girls, Boys and Marsupials, which was released only in Japan. Their debut studio album, A Guide to Love, Loss & Desperation, was released in 2007 and featured some tracks first released on Girls, Boys and Marsupials. After releasing another EP in 2008 and touring for three years, the band released their second album, This Modern Glitch, in 2011. They released their third album, Glitterbug, in 2015 and their fourth, Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life, in February 2018. Their fifth album, Fix Yourself, Not the World, was released in January 2022 and reached the number 1 position in the UK Albums Chart on the week of release.


  • Matthew Murphy
  • Tord Øverland Knudsen
  • Dan Haggis
  • The Wombats’ Albums / EPs / Mixtapes / Singles

  • album: “A Guide To Love, Loss And Desperation” (2007)
  • album: “This Modern Glitch” (2011)
  • album: “Glitterbug” (2015)
  • album: “Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life” (2018)
  • compilation: “B – Z Sides (2003-2017) (In Rough Chronological Order)” (2019)
  • album: “Fix Yourself, Not The World” (2022)

    The Wombats